My Top 10 Most Memorable Twists

I love reading thrillers, however this can be a difficult genre because if you read a lot of it you begin to find it almost impossible to be surprised. The so called twists are always obvious to you within the first chapter or two and you end up reading on for reasons other than the thrill of that “what did I just read?!” moment that you love so much.

Having said this, it is definitely not impossible to still be shocked and surprised at a twist when done well, revealed at the right time and elevating the story. This is not an exhaustive list but here are my top 10 most memorable plot twist books that I have read over the last few years.

In no particular order…

Black-Eyed Susans, Julia Haeberlin

This is probably the book that always first comes to mind when I think of twist endings that have really felt like the author’s hand reached out of the book and slapped me about the face. It wasn’t even just one twist that I didn’t get, there were a few, kind of made me feel like an idiot but in a really good way! I absolutely rave about this book, and recommend it to everyone. As soon as I finished it I gave it to my Mum who had the exact same reaction as me! Read it!

“I am sane, and I am not, and I don’t want anyone to know.”

Julia Haeberlin

Darling, Rachel Edwards

A twist so well delivered that I actually had to go back through some of the book retracing the clues to try to figure out how I missed it, it was all laid out for me to find like breadcrumbs but was masterfully placed so often other things seemed like the path I should instead be following. It really was one of the best delivered twists I have ever come across, I can’t wait to read more from this author!

One should always go into a marriage with one’s eyes stark staring open.” 

Rachel Edwards

The Heart Goes Last, Margaret Atwood

I wasn’t sure whether to include this as it isn’t exclusively a thriller book, it is more of a dystopian novel (another genre that I love) however the final twist was very good and left me with a little smile on my face thinking and kind of wanting to raise a glass in a cheers motion to Margaret Atwood for that one last little surprise turn of events. Very good and a great book all round.

How dare she show herself to be everything he was so annoyed with her for not being?”

Margaret Atwood

The Rumour, Lesley Kara

A pretty run of the mill thriller for the most part to be honest, don’t get me wrong I really enjoyed it but wasn’t expecting too much from the ending and it delivered just what I thought it would. It was good. However there was something else, after the ending that I was absolutely one thousand percent not expecting that sent chills down my spine to be quite honest with you.

We’re all of us capable of evil thoughts and evil acts under certain circumstances.”

Lesley Kara

The Last House on Needless Street, Catriona Ward

There is something to be said for an unreliable narrator plot device, why would this be something that has delighted and intrigued readers for centuries, long before the term was even coined, if not for the fact that it is a winning formula. This was my first read of 2022 and it was a great way to start the year, although maybe setting a bit of a high standard that my books over the next few months will have to try to reach! Really good book, found it difficult to put down at all, kept wanting “just one more chapter” right up to the very end!

In one way I am very lonely, and in another I’ve got more company than I can handle.”

Catriona Ward

The Chalk Man, CJ Tudor

This was a super creepy story, really set me on edge and even just thinking back and remembering it gives me the creeps all over again. It had such an uncomfortable twist that it makes me shudder just thinking about it. So well done and so out of the blue, for me anyway which is all I can ever speak for! There are sometimes books where I think that was so good I wish I could read it again without knowing what was going to happen, and this is one of those books.

It’s a sad fact that beauty, real beauty, just eclipses everything and everyone around it.”

CJ Tudor

The Wife Between Us, Greer Hendricks

There were a few twists in this book but the one that really stands out for me was not even at the end, it occurred very early on, within the first half of the novel and it caught me so completely off guard that my jaw went slack. I remember thinking, well this is not at all where I thought this was going. Well done to the author for lulling me into a false sense of insecurity, it was kind of like the thriller writer equivalent of someone who is standing next to you but reaches behind to tap you on your far shoulder so you turn around to see who is behind.

I was happy, I think, but I wonder now if my memory is playing tricks on me. If it’s giving me the gift of illusion.”

Greer Hendricks

Sharp Objects, Gillian Flynn

Well if you know you know. I think this is one of the most sickening twists I have ever read and it comes at a time when you think ah finally there is a chance everything is going to be just right for everyone. There is a lot of evil in this book, but there is a subtlety to it that keeps it as almost an undercurrent running throughout until it comes crashing out like a wave of malevolence. Some amazing characterisation as well.

I just think some women aren’t made to be mothers. And some women aren’t made to be daughters.”

Gillian Flynn

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, Stuart Turton

I tell everyone who will sit still long enough to listen that they should read this book, it was my favourite read of 2018 and still one of my favourite reads of all time. I still can’t get over the fact that this was a debut novel by this writer. Have you ever read a book and thought to yourself, wow I wish I had written that, that was how I felt after this. I love it, read it, I can’t wait for the TV adaptation although I know it can’t possibly live up to this.

Too little information and you’re blind, too much and you’re blinded.”

Stuart Turton

The Family Upstairs, Lisa Jewell

This list wouldn’t be a list about twists if there was no Lisa Jewell on it, all hail the queen of thriller/mystery. The Family Upstairs was a top read of 2020 for me, and I am very impatiently waiting for the sequel, The Family Remains which is my most anticipated read for this year. I can only hope it will be as twisty and exciting as its predecessor.

The weakness of men lay at the root of every bad thing that had ever happened.”

Lisa Jewell

Those are some of my most favourite twists. Do you have any other novels you think I should read that would make it on to another list if I was to do one? I would welcome any recommendations.  Remember to follow if you want to see my next post!

2 thoughts on “My Top 10 Most Memorable Twists

  1. The 7/7.5 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is one of my faves too! I listened to the audiobook. The narrator was fantastic, SO atmospheric, I couldn’t keep away from it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment